Three ECC Women's Lacrosse Team Headed to NCAA Tournament

Three ECC Women's Lacrosse Team Headed to NCAA Tournament

Indianapolis - For the first time in conference history, the East Coast Conference will send three teams to the NCAA Division II Women's Lacrosse Championship. LIU Post, Mercy, and NYIT were all included in the 12 team bracket that was revealed on Sunday evening.

LIU Post (15-2) earns the No. 3 seed in the North Region for the second straight season after winning their third straight ECC Championship. The Pioneers, who are making their 14th appearance in the 17 year history of the championship, will face ECC rival NYIT (15-3) in the opening round of the tournament.

The Bears earn the No. 6 seed and first-ever appearance in the NCAA Championship in the program's inagural season. NYIT's roster is not devoid of experience playing in the NCAA tournament however, with 14 student-athletes having played in last year's championship for former ECC school, Dowling.

LIU Post won the first-ever meeting between the two schools, 12-11, in overtime last Saturday. The win in a battle of then-unbeatens in conference play, locked up the ECC Regular Season Championship for the Pioneers.

Despite the two schools being located less than a mile apart on Long Island's Northern Boulevard, the teams will travel to Syracuse, N.Y. for the opening round neutral site matchup. The game will take place on the campus of No. 2 seeded, Le Moyne College (18-1). The winner of the LIU Post vs. NYIT matchup will advance to take on the Dolphins in the National Quarterfinals.

The other half of the North Region bracket includes Mercy (16-3) as the No. 5 seed. It continues to be a season of firsts for the Mavericks. After already earning their first national ranking and ECC Championship victory with a semifinal win over NYIT, the Mavericks are now heading to the NCAA Championship for the first-time in program history.

Mercy's opponent in the First Round will be No. 4 seed, New Haven (14-4). This will be only the second meeting between the two programs, with New Haven winning the first matchup by a final score of 19-4 back in 2012.

The Mercy vs. New Haven  matchup will occur on the campus of Adelphi (18-1) in Garden City, N.Y. The winner advances to take on top seeded and Northeast 10 Champion, Adelphi.

The other half of the bracket in the South Region includes No. 1 Lindenwood, No. 2 (and defending National Champion) Florida Southern, No. 3 East Stroudsburg, No. 4 Regis, No. 5 Queens (N.C.), and No. 6 Florida Tech.

The first two rounds will be on campus sites with play starting on May 12 and quarterfinal action taking place the following day, May 13. The winners will advance to the semifinals on May 19.

The National Championship game will take place on May 21. Both the semifinals and final will take place in Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania on the campus of Bloomsburg University.

To view the full NCAA Division II Women's Lacrosse Championship bracket, click here.