Eighth Annual ECC Awards Dinner Highlighted by Conference's First-Ever Hall of Fame Induction

(L to R): Morten Jensen, David Kelly, Vincent Salamone, Clyde Doughty, Jr., Jack Kaley
(L to R): Morten Jensen, David Kelly, Vincent Salamone, Clyde Doughty, Jr., Jack Kaley

Bridgeport, Conn. - Over 100 administrators, coaches, student-athletes and guests from East Coast Conference member institutions traveled to the John J. Cox Student Center on the campus of the University of Bridgeport on May 22 for the East Coast Conference Awards Dinner. Highlighting this year's event was the first-ever ECC Hall of Fame induction of six former student-athletes, coaches, and administrators.

The event also highlighted team and student-athlete accomplishments including recognizing the Players, Coaches and Scholar-Athletes of the Year from all 18 ECC sponsored sports. In addition, the conference honored student-athletes, teams, and member institutions with special awards while also handing out the 2016-17 Commissioner’s Cup.

Clyde Doughty, Jr. (NYIT Athletic Director), Morten Jensen (Dowling men's soccer student-athlete), Jack Kaley (NYIT Head Coach - men's lacrosse), Kristiana Kandere (Saint Rose women's basketball student-athlete), David Kelly (LIU Post men's lacrosse student-athlete), and Vincent Salamone (LIU Post Athletic Director), became the inaugural class into the ECC Hall of Fame with their induction on Monday evening. (read more)

The St. Thomas Aquinas College women's lacrosse team was awarded the Community Engagement Award of Excellence. The Spartans were awarded for their work with Friends of Jaclyn. (read more)

Daemen received the ECC Cares Award for leading the conference in monies raised for collective causes.  The Wildcats raised just under $9,500. (read more)

St. Thomas Aquinas College was presented with the ECC Community Cup for the eighth consecutive year after averaging over 13 hours of community service and community engagement per student-athlete, the highest among the 10 institutions. (read more)

LIU Post won the Commissioner’s Cup for the fifth straight year. The Pioneers made the ECC Championship tournaments in 15 of the 17 sports they sponsor, won three conference tournament championships, and two regular season championships to claim the award. (read more)

Roberts Wesleyan was awarded the ECC Academic Success Rate award for the third straight year. The Redhawks earned the honor after posting an 86 percent graduation success rate in the NCAA Academic Tracking System.

Senior Jesper Malmstrom (Linkopping, Sweden) of the LIU Post men's soccer team was named the 2017 Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year.  Malmstrom, boasted a grade point average (GPA) of 3.97 as a Finance major.  He was also CoSIDA's Men's Soccer Division II Academic All-America of the Year after posting a 16-1-1 record and finising in the top-five in the country in shutouts and goals against average. (read more)

Senior Rachel Hutchinson (Freeville, N.Y.) of the Roberts Wesleyan women's cross country and track & field teams was tabbed the 2017 Female Scholar-Athletes of the Year.  Hutchinson maintained a perfect 4.0 gpa as a double major in Mathematics and Chemistry. She also was an All-Conference First Team selection in Cross Country and the ECC Champion in the 1,500 meter run. (read more)

Two student-athletes received the John Smillie, Jr. Award for overcoming personal and physical challenges to continue to play the sport that they love.  Dylan Cafarella (Albertson, N.Y.) of the LIU Post football team and Liam Haycock (Stafford, England) of the University of the District of Columbia men's soccer team were recognized for their courage, dedication and inspiring stories. (read more)

The most prestigious award of the evening, dubbed the Excellence in Community and Character Award (E.C.C. Award), was presented to three student-athletes this year.  The E.C.C. Award recognizes student-athletes who have distinguished themselves through positive actions and behaviors that are consistent with the NCAA Division II attributes of learning, service, passion, sportsmanship, balance and resourcefulness.  This year’s recipients were Shannon Duer (Islip, N.Y., women's basketball, NYIT), Rachel Pawlak (North Tonawanda, N.Y., women's basketball, Daemen), and Joseph Pena (Brooklyn, N.Y., baseball, St. Thomas Aquinas). (read more)