LIU Post Wins Sixth Straight ECC Commissioner's Cup

LIU Post Wins Sixth Straight ECC Commissioner's Cup

West Babylon, N.Y. - For the sixth straight year, LIU Post's athletic department has claimed the East Coast Conference Commissioner's Cup. This is the ninth time that LIU Post has won the Cup, which is awarded to the conference's top program across its 18 championship sports. The Pioneers amassed 104.5 points in the Cup standings, outpacing runner-up St. Thomas Aquinas by 17.25 points, for the largest margin of victory in their six year streak.

The Pioneers compiled a conference record of 107-28-1 (.790 winning percentage) in ECC sponsored sports and competed in ECC Championships all 17 conference sports they sponsor. LIU Post's men's soccer, women's lacrosse, and softball teams came away with ECC tournament titles and the Pioneers also picked up regular season championships in men’s soccer, volleyball, women's soccer, women's basketball, and softball.

St. Thomas Aquinas compiled 87.25 points to finish in second place behind LIU Post. The Spartans won ECC Championships in men's basketball, women's basketball, men's indoor track & field, men's outdoor track & field, and baseball. STAC's baseball team also were ECC Regular Season Champions, while the men's tennis, women's tennis, and women's lacrosse teams made ECC Championship appearances.

Roberts Wesleyan rounds out the top three with 75.25 points. The Redhawks men's and women's cross country and women's indoor and outdoor track & field teams repeated as ECC Champions during the 2017-18 season. The Redhawks also made ECC Championship appearances in men's basketball, women's basketball, and women's lacrosse.

2017 - 2018 ECC Commissioner’s Cup Final Standings

School Points
1. LIU Post 104.5
2. St. Thomas Aquinas      87.25
3. Roberts Wesleyan 75.25
4. Molloy 70.25
5. Daemen 63.875
6. NYIT 63.5
7. Queens 53.25
8. Mercy 44.25
9. Bridgeport 43.5
10. Dist. Columbia 32.5

The ECC Commissioner’s Cup

The East Coast Conference Commissioner's Cup is emblematic of the league's top program across its 18 championship sports. A new scoring system was established in 2013-14 to further reward programs that succeed in both regular-season and post-season play. The scoring system works as follows:

• Points for the number of schools whose teams compete for the post-season championship are split between the team that finishes in that place during the year and the team that finishes in that place in the championship.
• If a team is eliminated in the semi-finals or quarterfinals, its place is determined by its finish during the regular season.
• A school which does not sponsor a sport receives 0 points for that sport.
• Highest point total for each sport is the number of schools that sponsor that given sport
• For Cross Country and Track & Field, championship meet finish is utilized.
• Example: Team A wins regular season, finishes second in tournament: (11 + 10) / 2 = 10.5 points
• Example: Team B finishes fourth in regular season, wins tournament: 8 + 11 / 2 = 9.5 points

Past Commissioner’s Cup Champions
1994-95 College of St. Rose
1995-96 College of St. Rose
1996-97 Adelphi University
1997-98 Dowling College
1998-99 Adelphi University
1999-00 Dowling College
2000-01 Adelphi University
2001-02 Adelphi University
2002-03 Adelphi University
2003-04 University of New Haven
2004-05 Adelphi University
2005-06 C.W. Post/LIU
2006-07 C.W. Post/LIU
2007-08 Adelphi University
2008-09 Dowling College
2009-10 C.W. Post/LIU
2010-11 Dowling College
2011-12 Dowling College
2012-13 LIU Post
2013-14 LIU Post
2014-15 LIU Post
2015-16 LIU Post
2016-17 LIU Post
2017-18 LIU Post