Central Islip, NY - The honors keep pouring in for Gabriel Duran as he was named the 2009 Daktronics NCAA Division II National Pitcher of the Year on Friday. He also becomes the second player in Dowling history to be named an All-American.

In his sophomore year as a Golden Lion, Duran, the ECC Pitcher of the Year, Daktronics East Region Pitcher of the Year, ABCA East Region Pitcher of the Year, and First Team All-Conference selection, led the Dowling pitching staff this year, compiling an impressive 9-1 record and a save during the regular season. The Brooklyn, NY native currently ranks fourth in the nation (1.45) and leads the nation in hits allowed per 9 innings (3.71). Duran has tallied 79 strikeouts and held his opponents to a .154 batting average in 80.2 innings. The righthander also threw a no-hitter in his first start of the season against Felician College, striking out 14 batters in the process.

Duran also earns Daktronics First Team All-American honors, becoming the second player in program history to earn such a distinction. Chris Caputo, a 2007 National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Honorable Mention All-American at designated hitter, is the only other Golden Lion to earn All-American recognition.

Duran will look to extend his phenomenal season by trying to help Dowling capture the National Championship at this weeks NCAA Division II College World Series. Duran and the Golden Lions will begin tournament play when they take on No. 1 ranked UC San Diego on May, 24 in Cary, North Carolina.

Daktronics All-American Team

National Player of the Year - Matt Adams, C, Sr., Slippery Rock
National Pitcher of the Year - Gabriel Duran, RHP, So., Dowling

First Team

Pos Name Yr School
SP Gabriel Duran So Dowling
SP Chris Armijo Sr Incarnate Word
SP Dan Wright Jr Lynn
SP Hayden Simpson So Souther Arkansas
RP Chris Matlock Sr Central Missouri
C Chris Matlock Sr Slippery Rock
1B Jon Aija Sr Cal State Dominguez Hills
2B Cannon Lester Jr Southern Arkansas
3B Yan Gomes Jr Barry
SS Matt Bodenchuk Sr Mesa State
OF Jason Forbes Sr Colorado State - Pueblo
OF Brandon Decker Jr Valdosta State
OF Adam Darby Sr Harding
DH Travis Howard Sr USC Aiken
UT Matt Costello Jr Valdosta State

Second Team

Pos Name School
SP Gary Moran Sonoma State
SP Kyle Vazquez Franklin Pierce
SP Blake Keitzman Western Oregon
SP Tom Cote Franklin Pierce
RP Shaun Larsen Southern Indiana
C Jordan Schmitt Abilene Christian
1B Zack Solly Fairmont State
2B Kevin Becker Mesa State
3B Craig Lyerly Catawba
SS Rich Racobaldo Mount Olive
OF Eric Workman West Virginia State
OF Matt Cotellese West Chester
OF J.D. Martinez Nova Southeastern
DH Keith Towne Angelo State
UT Chris Adamson Angelo State

Third Team

Pos Name School
SP Ben Watkins Pittsburgh - Johnstown
SP Darin Gorski Kutztown
SP Cody Walden Armstrong Atlantic State
SP Charley Short Barry
RP Brandon Graves Valdosta State
C Ryan Query Catawba
1B Rob Dahlberg West Alabama
2B Drew Cross St. Edwards
3B Jacob Petkac Ashland
SS Nick Shaw Barry
OF Jeff Foltz Ashland
OF Chance Tuttle Central Missouri
OF Bryan Fogle Erksine
DH Douglas Toro Lynn
UT Donovan Huffer Concord

Honorable Mention:
Vane Albitz, California, San Diego; Thomas Bumpass, Abilene Christian; Jason Carr, New Mexico Highlands; Matt Costello, Valdosta State; Sam DiMatteo, California (PA); Mike Dowd, Franklin Pierce; Kenny Elkind, Angelo State; Nick Fogleman, Pfeiffer; Jerome Johnson, Eastern New Mexico; Mark Letchworth, Wingate; Carlos Leyva, Cal State Dominguez Hills; Ben Minard, Ashland; Justin Moore, Dominican; Jake Schmidt, Concordia (MN); Tim Shibuya, California, San Diego; Michael Thompson, Bellarmine; Willie Uechi, Abilene Christian; Derek West, Southwest Minnesota State