ECC Standouts Named to ABCA, DIICCA, and NCBWA All-Region Teams

ECC Standouts Named to ABCA, DIICCA, and NCBWA All-Region Teams

East Coast Conference baseball standouts have been selected to three different publication's All-Region Teams released over the past week.

ECC Pitcher of the Year, Frankie Moscatiello of St. Thomas Aquinas, leads three student-athletes who were consensus First Team selections across the three different publications. Moscatiello, has also been named the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA)/Rawlings East Region Pitcher of the Year. He helped lead the Spartans to the Division II World Series with a 9-1 record to go along with a 1.59 earned run average and 86 strikeouts in 79.1 innings.

ECC Player of the Year, Rob Andreoli of LIU Post, and St. Thomas Aquinas' Joseph Pena, were the other two selected to all three All-Region First Teams. Andreoli finished the year with a .346 batting average to go along with five homeruns and 44 RBI. He also finished in the top-five in the conference with 73 hits, 15 doubles, 42 runs scored, and 22 stolen bases.

Pena is the ECC batting champion with a .391 average on the year. He has also compiled a conference-leading 81 hits, 60 runs scored, 49 walks, and a .526 on-base percentage. In addition, he added 11 doubles, four triples, six homeruns, and 38 RBI.

Three others were listed on all three All-Region squads. Dan Jagiello (First Team - DIICCA, Second Team - ABCA, NCBWA) of LIU Post led the ECC with 12 saves. Giovanni Dingcong (First Team - ABCA, NCBWA, Second Team - DIICCA) tops the ECC with 18 homeruns and teammate Anthony Shkrelja (First Team - DIICCA, Second Team - ABCA, Honorable Mention - NCBWA) hit .306 with eight homeruns and 37 RBI and contributed on the mound with a 4-1 record to go with a 2.43 ERA.

Other student-athletes selected are Stephen DiNicola (Second Team - DIICCA, ABCA) and Casey McCone (Second Team - NCBWA) of Bridgeport, Jake DeCarli (Second Team - DIICCA, Honorable Mention - NCBWA) of LIU Post, Angelo Navetta (Second Team - NCBWA) and Michael Rahn (Honorable Mention - NCBWA) of Molloy, and Joseph Broderick (Honorable Mention - NCBWA) of Queens.

To view the full ABCA/Rawlings All-Region Team, click here.
To view the full DIICCA All-Region Team, click here.
To view the full NCBWA All-Region Team, click here.