Bonneau, Williams, and Jones Headline Men’s Basketball All-Conference Awards

Bonneau, Williams, and Jones Headline Men’s Basketball  All-Conference Awards

Central Islip, N.Y. – For the second consecutive year the conference’s coaches have selected senior guard, Stefan Bonneau from C.W. Post, the East Coast Conference Player of the Year. C.W. Post forward Tyuan Williams has been named the 2012 ECC Rookie of the Year, while University of the District of Columbia junior forward Dyrek Jones takes home the ECC Defensive Player of the Year honor.  

One of Division II’s most prolific scorers, Bonneau leads the ECC and ranks sixth nationally with a 22.1points per game average. Capable of high-flying dunks, as evidenced by advancing to the semifinals of the State Farm Dark Horse Dunker contest, to go along with a deadly outside shot, he has scored in double figures in every game this season. Bonneau, who is fourth in the ECC in three point shooting percentage at 38.2 percent, scored 20 plus points on 15 different occasions and eclipsed the 30 point mark three times. Bonneau was also a skilled passer, dishing off 86 assists on the season to come in at fourth in the conference.

Bonneau’s teammate Williams posted impressive numbers in his freshman campaign.  Williams, a five time ECC Rookie of the Week, finished second in the conference in rebounding with 8.0 per game. In ECC action, Williams bumped that number up to 9.3 per game to lead the conference. He also contributed on the offensive end with an 8.1 point per game average and once again his numbers increased in conference action as he averaged 10.1 points per game in ECC play. In all, Williams posted five double doubles on the year.

Jones was a huge factor in the University of the District of Columbia ranking near the top ten in Division II in opponents field goal percentage. The 6’7” forward protected the rim for the Firebirds, swatting away 82 shots. His 3.3 blocks per game average, which led the conference, was more than twice that of the runner up. Jones also ranked fifth in all of Division II in blocks. He also contributed on the defensive end by ranking fifth in the conference with 7.5 rebounds per game and making 22 steals.

Head Coach Chris Casey from the C.W. Post has been tabbed Coach of the Year.  Casey led the Pioneers to a 21-5 overall record. C.W. Post also posted a 15-1 mark in conference play, garnering a first-place finish in the ECC and the number one seed in the ECC playoffs.  

The ECC All-Conference First Team includes:   Vaughn Allen (So., F, C.W. Post), Stefan Bonneau (Sr., G, C.W. Post), Tobin Carberry (Sr., G, C.W. Post), Darian David (Jr., G, Bridgeport), Brandon Herbert (Sr., G, District of Columbia), and Nigel Munson (Sr., G, District of Columbia

The ECC All-Conference Second Team members are:  William Harrison (Sr., F, Bridgeport), Khalil McDonald (Sr., F, Queens), John Merchant III (Sr., G, Dowling), Jimmy Nolan (Jr., G, Molloy), and John Petrucelli (So., G, Molloy)

The ECC All-Rookie Team is comprised of Abe Akanmu (G, Queens), Jahleel Felix (G, NYIT), Nick Fessenden (F, NYIT), Matt McLeod (G, Molloy), and Tyuan Williams (F, C.W. Post).

2011-2012 ECC Men’s Basketball All-Conference
First Team
Vaughn Allen (So., F, C.W. Post)
Stefan Bonneau (Sr., G, C.W. Post)
Tobin Carberry (Sr., G, C.W. Post)
Darian David (Jr., G, Bridgeport)
Brandon Herbert (Sr., G, District of Columbia)
Nigel Munson (Sr., G, District of Columbia)

Second Team
William Harrison (Sr., F, Bridgeport)
Khalil McDonald (Sr., F, Queens)
John Merchant III (Sr., G, Dowling)
Jimmy Nolan (Jr., G, Molloy)
John Petrucelli (So., G, Molloy)

All-Rookie Team
Abe Akanmu (G, Queens)
Jahleel Felix (G, NYIT)
Nick Fessenden (F, NYIT)
Matt McLeod (G, Molloy)
Tyuan Williams (F, C.W. Post)

Player of the Year:  Stefan Bonneau (Sr., G, C.W. Post)
Rookie of the Year:  Tyuan Williams (Fr., F, C.W. Post)
Defensive Player of the Year: Dyrek Jones (Jr., F, District of Columbia)
Coach of the Year: Chris Casey (C.W. Post)