Hooker, Beverly, and Reyes Headline ECC Men’s Basketball All-Conference Awards

Hooker, Beverly, and Reyes Headline ECC Men’s Basketball All-Conference Awards

Central Islip, N.Y. - NYIT senior guard  Darian Hooker (Washington, D.C.) has been selected as the 2014-15 East Coast Conference Player of the Year in a vote by the league's coaches. Daemen senior forward Gerald Beverly (Rochester, N.Y.) repeats as the ECC Defensive Player of the Year, while St. Thomas Aquinas freshman guard Justin Reyes (Haverhill, Mass.) takes home the ECC Rookie of the Year honor.

Hooker has made his one season in an NYIT uniform a memorable one. Despite missing three games due to injury in the middle of the season, Hooker set an ECC single-season record for points with 708 and counting. Over 25 games played, his point total translates to 28.3 points per game, which not only leads the ECC, but all of Division II. He also finds his name atop the ECC leader board in field goals made (225), three point field goals made (80), free throws made (178), and free throw percentage (87.3). Hooker has scored in double-figures in every game on the season, scoring less than 20 points only three times. He has topped 40 points on three different occasions and scored 30 or more in 12 different games. His scoring prowess earned him ECC Player of the Week honors five times as well as the United States Basketball Writers Association's (USBWA) Division II National Player of the Week honor for the week ending February 8. In addition to his scoring exploits, Hooker has been the ECC's top distributor as well, averaging an ECC-high 4.9 assists per game.

Beverly was a monster in the paint once again for Daemen. For the second straight season, Beverly led the conference in blocks, including an ECC single-game record 12 against St. Thomas (Fla.) on December 17.  His final regular-season block total topped triple digits with 102, currently the eighth highest single-season total in ECC history. Beverly was also a force on the boards, topping the ECC with 334 total rebounds, 227 defensive rebounds, and  11.9 rebounds per game.   

Reyes had an outstanding debut season in helping St. Thomas Aquinas finish 17-3 in ECC play. The guard finished second among all first-year players in scoring with 11.1 points per game and led all rookies with 6.5 rebounds per game. Reyes also finished among the top-10 in the conference in field goal percentage (49.8), steals (41), and blocks (22).  

Tobin Anderson from St Thomas Aquinas has been picked as the Coach of the Year by his peers.  Anderson led the Spartans to a share of the ECC Regular Season Championship, a first in program history, and the top seed in the upcoming ECC Men's Basketball Championship. Under his guidance, the Spartans also won 20 games for the first time since joining NCAA's Division II and first time overall since the 1998-99 season.

The ECC also announced its Men's Basketball All-Conference teams. ECC Co-Regular Season Champions, St. Thomas Aquinas  and Bridgeport have the most selections between the three teams with three each. Daemen, LIU Post, Molloy, and NYIT all have two apiece. Hooker and Beverly are joined on the  All-Conference First Team by Darien Davis (Sr., G, Dowling), Torrence Dyck, Jr., (Jr., G, Daemen), Chaz Watler (So., G, St. Thomas Aquinas), and Willie Williams III (Sr., F, Bridgeport).

The ECC All-Conference Second Team members are: Devon Elliott (Jr., G, Bridgeport), Isaac Medeiros (Sr., F, Roberts Wesleyan), Jeremiah Mordi (Sr., G, Queens), Ernest Rouse (Jr., G, Bridgeport), and Tyuan Williams (Sr., F, LIU Post).

The ECC Honorable Mention Team is comprised of Reyes, Jon Feiler (Sr., F, NYIT), Marcus Henderson (Sr., G, St. Thomas Aquinas), Matt McLeod (Sr., G, Molloy), Jaylen Morris (So., G, Molloy), and P.J. Torres (Sr., G, LIU Post).

2014-2015 ECC Men’s Basketball All-Conference
First Team
Gerald Beverly, Daemen (Sr., F, Rochester, N.Y.)
Darien Davis, Dowling (Sr., G, Middle Island, N.Y.)
Torrence Dyck, Jr., Daemen (Jr., G/F, Rochester, N.Y.)
Darian Hooker, NYIT (Sr., G, Washington, D.C.)
Chaz Watler, St. Thomas Aquinas (So., G, Brooklyn, N.Y.)
Willie Williams III, Bridgeport (Sr., F, Norwalk, Conn.)

Second Team
Devon Elliott, Bridgeport (Jr., G, Brooklyn, N.Y.)
Isaac Medeiros, Roberts Wesleyan (Sr., F, Johnston, R.I.)
Jeremiah Mordi, Queens (Sr., G, Valley Stream, N.Y.)
Ernest Rouse, Bridgeport (Jr., G, Freeport, N.Y.)
Tyuan Williams, LIU Post (Sr., F, Newark, N.J.)

Honorable Mention Team
Jon Feiler, NYIT (Jr., F, St. James, N.Y.)
Marcus Henderson, St. Thomas Aquinas (Sr., G, Newburgh, N.Y.)
Matt McLeod, Molloy (Sr., G, Greenlawn, N.Y.)
Jaylen Morris, Molloy (So., G, Amherst, N.Y.)
Justin Reyes, St. Thomas Aquinas (Fr., G, Amherst, N.Y.)
P.J. Torres, LIU Post (Sr., G, New Rochelle, N.Y.)

Player of the Year: Darian Hooker, NYIT
Defensive Player of the Year: Gerald Beverly, Daemen
Rookie of the Year: Justin Reyes, St. Thomas Aquinas
Coach of the Year: Tobin Anderson, St. Thomas Aquinas

* Six players were named to the Honorable Mention Team due to a tie in the voting.