Messina, DiCarlo & Melnychenko Take Home ECC Men’s Lacrosse Top Honors

Messina, DiCarlo & Melnychenko Take Home ECC Men’s Lacrosse Top Honors

Central Islip, N.Y. - Senior midfielder Michael Messina from C.W. Post has been selected the 2011 East Coast Conference Player of the Year.  Sophomore TJ DiCarlo from Mercy was named Goalkeeper of the Year and Mike Melnychenko of Chestnut Hill earns Rookie of the Year honors.

Messina helped the two-time defending National Champion Pioneers of C.W. Post back to the NCAA Tournament and a 16-1 record in the 2011 campaign by tallying 29 goals and seven assists for 36 points. The senior middie was a constant threat offensively, tallying multiple points in 12 games, including six games where he surpassed the three point mark.  

DiCarlo led the way for the surprising Mercy College Mavericks in 2011, compiling an 11-3 record between the pipes while making double digit saves in every game but one.  The sophomore also ranked in the top two in all ECC goalkeeper statistical categories including amassing a .636 save percentage to lead the conference. Currently, he ranks in the top ten in all of Division II in save percentage, goals against average, and saves per game.

A three-time ECC Rookie of the Week, Melnychenko was an offensive force all season for the Griffins.  He tallied 50 goals, including six in an upset victory over then No. 5 ranked Dowling. Melnychenko also led the ECC and all of NCAA Division II with 3.57 goals per game, while also ranking fourth nationally with 4.07 points per game.  

Mercy College Head Coach Steve Manitta has been voted the 2011 Coach of the Year by his peers.  After Mercy, a second year program, was selected eighth in the ECC Preseason Coaches’ Poll, Manitta guided the Mavericks to an overall record of 11-3 and a No. 7 national ranking in the final regular season USILA Division II national poll.

2011 Men's Lacrosse All-Conference

  First Team Second Team Honorable Mention
A Ryan Amengual, NYIT Nick Coric, C.W. Post Kyle Kallay, Mercyhurst
A Chris Lubin, NYIT Vito DeMola, Dowling Mike Melnychenko, Chestnut Hill
A Eddie Plompen, C.W. Post Brian Scheetz, Mercyhurst Jesse Wood, Mercy
M Kevin Coholan, Mercyhurst Alex Jones, Dominican Mike Palmer, NYIT
M Michael Messina, C.W. Post  
Joe Herman, NYIT Jesse Peterson, Dominican
M Keith Rodriguez, C.W. Post  
James Delaney, Seton Hill Mark Winkelspecht, Chestnut Hill
M     Andrew Winslow, Mercyhurst
D Erik Boyd, C.W. Post Brian Mangan, NYIT Matt Lauria, Dowling
D Andrew Casimir, Dowling Matt Scherer, Mercyhurst Mike Munch, Mercy
D Dan DaCosta, C.W. Post Joe Vissichelli, Molloy David Robbins, Seton Hill
LSM Greg Bensman, Mercyhurst Jason Cranmer, C.W. Post Justin Annunziata, NYIT
SP Ronnie Irving, C.W. Post Lou Riley, Dowling John Lionetti, Mercy
SP     John Wood, C.W. Post
GK TJ DiCarlo, Mercy Michael Giordano, C.W. Post  
Zach Nash - Mercyhurst











Player of the Year: Michael Messina, Sr., MF, C.W. Post
Goalkeeper of the Year:
TJ DiCarlo, So., Mercy
Rookie of the Year: Mike Melnychenko, A, Chestnut Hill
Coach of the Year: Steve Manitta, Mercy