Miller, Fallon, McDermott and Beccaris Garner Men’s Lacrosse All-Conference Top Awards

Miller, Fallon, McDermott and Beccaris Garner  Men’s Lacrosse All-Conference Top Awards

Central Islip, N.Y. – The conference’s coaches have selected NYIT sophomore attacker Luke Miller (Mastic, N.Y.) as the 2013 East Coast Conference Player of the Year. Miller’s teammates Joe Fallon (Kings Park, N.Y.) and Danny McDermott (Vancouver, British Columbia) take home the Goalkeeper of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year honors respectively while LIU Post’s Matty Beccaris rounds out the All-Conference major awards with the Rookie of the Year award.

Miller followed up his ECC Rookie of the Year campaign with an even more impressive showing in his sophomore year. A scoring machine, he led the ECC and all of Division II with an eye-popping 5.50 points per game. Over 14 contests Miller amassed an ECC leading 77 points on 37 goals and 40 assists. The five-time ECC Player of the Week also contributed with 45 ground balls and nine caused turnovers on the season.

Fallon put together an incredible senior season between the pipes for the Bears. In posting a 12-2 record on the season, Fallon compiled 155 saves and a 8.55 goals against average, to rank in the top three in the conference in both categories. A two-time winner of the ECC Goalkeeper of the Week award, McGee also finished second in the ECC and ninth in Division II with a .581 save percentage.

McDermott anchored the NYIT defense that finished third in the conference allowing 8.51 goals per game. The junior defender scooped up 67 ground balls, good for fourth in the ECC, and also led the conference with 40 caused turnovers. Over 14 games, that translated to 2.86 caused turnovers per game, a mark that led all of Division II.

Beccaris was a huge factor in the Pioneers going from a 6-6 team in 2012 to an 11-2 squad in 2013. The freshman attacker was LIU Post’s most potent scorer, leading the team in goals (34), assists (14), and points (48). Both his point and goal total were ranked in the top-10 in the ECC.

NYIT Head Coach, Bill Dunn, has been named the ECC Coach of the Year by his peers. Dunn led the Bears to a 6-1 ECC record for a second place finish and an overall 12-2 mark and a spot in the NCAA Tournament for the first time in four season.

2013 ECC Men's Lacrosse All-Conference

First Team
A: Luke Miller, NYIT
A: Joe Leonard, Molloy
A: Matt Beccaris, LIU Post
M: Ryan Brunet, NYIT
M: Mike Marzocca, Mercy
M: Mike Duddy, Chestnut Hill
D: Danny McDermott, NYIT
D: Derek Muzio, Dowling
D: Mike Munch, Mercy
LSM: TJ McAndrew, LIU Post
SPCL: Lou Riley, Dowling
GK: Joe Fallon, NYIT
Second Team
A: Mike Melnychenko, Chestnut Hill
A: Ryan Slane, LIU Post
A: Craig Owen, Chestnut Hill
M: Conor Drost, LIU Post
M: Peter Clark, Molloy
M: Mike Ross, NYIT
D: Justin Woodley, LIU Post
D: Ed Torriero, NYIT
D: Robert Chiocco, LIU Post
LSM: Sheldon Burns, Dowling
SPCL: Anthony Lauria, Roberts Wesleyan
SPCL: Octavio Bernabo, LIU Post
GK: Tim Bradley, LIU Post
Honorable Mention
A: Jesse Wood, Mercy
A: Matt Crough, Dowling
A: Dom Cianfarano, Roberts Wesleyan
A: Tom Englehardt, Molloy
M: AP Nist, NYIT
M: Anthony Berardis, LIU Post
M: Dennis Klusaritz, Chestnut Hill
D: Kyle Frenger, Molloy
D: Derick Darnulc, Chestnut Hill
D: Conlan Pierce, Dominican
D: Dan Chilianis, Mercy
LSM: Tom Carfagna, Chestnut Hill
SPCL: Nick Pelella, NYIT
SPCL: Daniel Wiener, Chestnut Hill
GK: Myles Harvey, Dowling
GK: Dakota Maurer, Chestnut Hill
Player of the Year: Luke Miller, NYIT
Defensive Player of the Year: Danny McDermott, NYIT
Goalkeeper of the Year: Joe Fallon, NYIT
Rookie of the Year: Matt Beccaris, LIU Post
Coach of the Year: Bill Dunn, NYIT