13 Named to USILA All-America List

13 Named to USILA All-America List

Perry, N.Y. -  Thirteen men's lacrosse student-athletes have been named Division II All-Americans by the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA). Four of the standouts earned First Team honors.

Teammates Luke Miller and Danny McDermott of NYIT repeat as First Team selections. Miller, the two-time ECC Player of the Year, finished second in all of Division II with 5.31 points per game. The junior attacker finished the season second in the ECC with 85 points on 36 goals and 49 assists.

McDermott, the ECC Defensive Player of the Year, makes his third straight appearance on the USILA First Team at the long-stick midfielder position. The top defender on a team that finished fifth in Division II in allowing only 7.13 goals per game, McDermott finished second in the ECC with 33 caused turnovers and scooped up 32 ground balls.

Another set of teammates, Billy Richardson and Derek Muzio of Dowling, are the other two ECC players honored as First Team All-Americans. Richardson, a midfielder, tallied 20 goals and 22 assists for 42 points for the Golden Lions. Muzio was a standout defender, with 49 ground balls and 24 caused turnovers.

ECC student-athletes on the Second Team included Matt Crough and Sheldon Burns of Dowling, Jon Lynott and Alex Seltzer of NYIT, Michael Melnychenko of Chestnut Hill, and Anthony Berardis of LIU Post.

Third Team honorees are TJ McAndrew and Robbie Chiocco of LIU Post, while Matty Beccaris of LIU Post was the lone ECC representative on the Honorable Mention list.

2014 USILA Division II All-America Team
First Team
A - Kevin Kelly, LeMoyne
A - Luke Miller, NYIT
A - Sal Tuttle, Adelphi
M - Andrew Chadderdon, LeMoyne
M - Billy Richardson, Dowling
FO - Greg Puskuldjian, Adelphi
LSM - Danny McDermott, NYIT
D - Alex Cameron-Carter, LeMoyne
D - Derek Muzio, Dowling
D - Andrew Wagner, Mercyhurst
GK - Patrick Sheridan, Limestone

Second Team
A - Matt Crough, Dowling
A - Michael Melnychenko, Chestnut Hill
A - Connor Whipple, Tampa
M - Anthony Berardis, LIU Post
M - Joe Celano, Adelphi
M - Reagan Harding, Lake Erie
M - Mike Perdie, Merrimack
FO - Kam Bumpus, LeMoyne
LSM - Sheldon Burns, Dowling
D - Jon Lynott, NYIT
D - Wayne Marx, Adelphi
D - Anthony Starnino, Limestone
GK - Alex Seltzer, NYIT

Third Team
A - Garrett Chan, Queens (N.C.)
A - Jacob Rooney, Tampa
A - Nick Watson, Adelphi
M - Dylan Gelven, Seton Hill
M - Steven Tilman, Pfeiffer
M - Tim Towler, Merrimack
FO - Kevin Reisman, Limestone
LSM - TJ McAndrew, LIU Post
D - Robbie Chiocco, LIU Post
D - Justin Goodwin, Lake Erie
D - Jimmy Holland, Merrimack
GK - Hayden Kirk, Pfeiffer

Honorable Mention
A - Matty Beccaris, LIU Post
A - Matt Delmonico, Seton Hill
A - Todd Nakasuji, Limestone
M - Sam Ashton, Lenoir-Rhyne
M - Joe Corapi, LeMoyne
M - Evan Farkas, Queens (N.C.)
M - Joshua Williams, Limestone
LSM - Tyler Felice-Jennings, Adelphi
D - Marty Heyn, Tampa
D - DJ Lubs, Florida Southern
D - Pat Murphy, Queens (N.C.)
D - Brandon Waiter, Merrimack
GK - Eric Dolan, Queens (N.C.)
GK - Mike Grace, Mercyhurst