14 ECC Men's Lacrosse Student-Athletes Earns USILA All-America Status

14 ECC Men's Lacrosse Student-Athletes Earns USILA All-America Status

Perry, N.Y. - Fourteen men's lacrosse student-athletes have been named Division II All-Americans by the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA). Two of the standouts earned First Team honors.

ECC Co-Offensive Player of the Year, Joe Leonard of Molloy, and ECC Defensive Player of the Year, Ed Torriero of NYIT, are the ECC's representatives on the First Team. Leonard led the ECC with 47 goals and finished third with 78 points on the season. He also led all of Division II with 5.2 points per game and finished second in the nation with 3.13 goals per game.

Torriero anchored a back-line that helped NYIT rank seventh in Division II with a 8.0 goals per game scoring defense and fifth with 10.63 caused turnovers per game. On the year, Torriero ranked third in the ECC with 23 caused turnovers and also scooped up 31 ground balls.

ECC student-athletes on the Second Team included Matty Beccaris, Connor Drost, and Robbie Chiocco of LIU Post and ECC Co-Offensive Player of the Year, Luke Miller of NYIT.

Third Team honorees are LIU Post's Matt Scalera and Dowling's Frank Gluchowski.  Shawn Murphy and Tom Hughes of NYIT and Anthony Berardis, Ryan Slane, Dan Jeannotte, and Justin Woodley of LIU Post round out the ECC representation as Honorable Mention selections.

Four of the 14 honorees are repeating as All-America honorees. Miller and Beccaris earn their third straight selections, while Berardis and Chiocco have been picked for the second straight season.

To view the full USILA All-America Team, click here.