Grabovac and Farres Top Men's Tennis All-Conference Selections

Grabovac and Farres Top Men's Tennis All-Conference Selections

Central Islip, N.Y. – University of the District of Columbia senior Aleksandar Grabovac (Ljubljana, Slovenia) has been named the 2013 East Coast Conference Men’s Tennis Player of the Year, as voted on by the league’s coaches.  Roberts Wesleyan freshman Charles Farres (Portsmouth, England) was selected Rookie of the Year.

Currently the No. 8 ranked singles player in the Intercollegiate Tennis Association’s East Region rankings, Grabovac boasts a 12-4 record at the No. 1 singles flight and went 4-1 in ECC play to help UDC top the ECC regular season standings. Among his other accomplishments include reaching the quarterfinals of the ITA East Regional “A” Singles tournament. Grabovac was nearly as dominant in doubles action, teaming with Simon Andersson to post a 9-4 record overall and 4-1 in conference action.

First year standout Farres takes home the conference’s top rookie honor after posting a 20-6 overall record and 3-2 ECC mark split between the No. 2 and No. 3 flights. Farres also posted a 4-1 mark at the No. 1 spot in ECC doubles action with Sam Thorold and finished 21-5 overall.  

District of Columbia head coach T. Richard “Dickie” Mahaffey III has been selected the Coach of the Year by his peers.  Mahaffey guided his squad to a 10-3 overall record this season, including a 5-0 mark against conference opponents, to clinch the ECC regular season title.  

2013 ECC Men’s Tennis All-Conference
First Team                       
Charles Farres, Fr., Roberts Wesleyan           
Aleksandar Grabovac, Sr., District of Columbia       
Youness Hidass, Jr., Queens               
Ike Kiro, Jr., District of Columbia           
Tomas Lieb, So., NYIT                   
Miguel Uzcategui, Jr., District of Columbia       

Second Team
Mathieu Amyot, Fr., St. Thomas Aquinas
Mircea Dimofte, Jr., NYIT
Andre Pellegrino, Jr., Queens
Jamie Salvador, Fr., NYIT
Sam Thorold, Jr., Roberts Wesleyan
Nikolaj Wulff, Sr., Queens

Player of the Year: Aleksandar Grabovac, Sr., District of Columbia
Rookie of the Year: Charles Farres, Fr., Roberts Wesleyan
Coach of the Year: T. Richard “Dickie” Mahaffey, III, District of Columbia