Selecky and Arias Top ECC Men's Tennis All-Conference Awards

Selecky and Arias Top ECC Men's Tennis All-Conference Awards

Central Islip, N.Y. - New York Institute of Technology junior Matej Selecky (Bratislava, Slovakia) has been named the East Coast Conference Men’s Tennis Player of the Year in a  by the league’s coaches.  Camilo Arias (Manizales, Colombia) of Queens College has been selected as the conference's Rookie of the Year.

Selecky, now a three-time All-Conference honoree, earns the second ECC major award of his career, adding to his Rookie of the Year honor in 2014. Currently the No. 3 ranked singles player in the East Region by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA), Selecky holds a 14-2 singles record on the season. Included in his record is an unblemished mark of 4-0  in ECC play at No. 1 singles.  Selecky is also 14-3 in doubles on the year, which includes a 4-1 mark in conference action.

Arias, a two-time Rookie of the Week, earns the Rookie of the Year honor after a strong first year showing in Flushing. Heading into ECC Championship play, Arias has compiled a record of 9-2 in singles play and 5-2 in doubles action. Arias was also 3-1 in singles and 2-0 in doubles during the ECC portion of Queens' schedule.

Queens College head coach, Somadi Druker, and NYIT head coach, Jason Pasion, have been selected as the Co-Coaches of the Year by their peers.  Druker, who was named Coach of the Year in 2015 as well, guided her squad to an 4-1 mark in conference play to clinch the No. 2 seed in the upcoming ECC Men's Tennis Championship. Druker has also guided the Knights to an 11-6 overall record and the No. 4 spot in the latest NCAA Division II East Region ranking.

Pasion led the Bears to an unblemished 5-0 mark in ECC play to earn the conference's Regular Season Championship. Under Pasion's guidance, the Bears are currently ranked No. 33 in the ITA Division II poll after putting together a 16-3 overall record on the season.

2016 ECC Men’s Tennis All-Conference
First Team                       
Rafaal Charkiewicz, Jr., NYIT               
Charles Farres, Sr., Roberts Wesleyan           
Tomas Lieb, Sr., NYIT                   
Gabriel Mendez, So., Queens               
Sharvill Nawghre, Jr., Queens               
Matej Selecky, Jr., NYIT                    

Second Team
Rok Bozic, So., Dist. Columbia
Andreu Ferragut-Lluch, So., St. Thomas Aquinas
Rares Ispas, So., NYIT
David Jiang, Jr., NYIT
Roman Laga, So., Queens
Aaron Stahl, So., St. Thomas Aquinas

Player of the Year: Matej Selecky, Jr., NYIT
Rookie of the Year: Camilo Arias, Fr., Queens
Co-Coach of the Year: Somadi Druker, Queens
Co-Coach of the Year: Jason Pasion, NYIT