Campagna, Stavola & Hagenah Headline ECC Softball All-Conference Awards

Campagna, Stavola & Hagenah Headline ECC Softball All-Conference Awards

Central Islip, N.Y. - Junior first baseman Carla Campagna of Molloy College has been named the 2011 ECC Softball Player of the Year, as selected by the league’s coaches.  Jessie Stavola of Dowling College earns her second straight ECC Pitcher of the Year honor and third baseman Nicole Hagenah of C.W. Post has been tabbed the 2011 Rookie of the Year. 

After leading the Lions to the NCAA Division II East Region Championship in 2010, Campagna was even better in 2011. Campagna was an offensive force for Molloy, finishing in the top five in the conference in hits (64), doubles (13), homeruns (10), RBI (59), total bases (107), walks (19), and on-base percentage (.464), while also finishing seventh in batting average (.390). She was also a standout with the glove, making only 2 errors in 258 totals chances for a .992 fielding percentage that led all ECC first baseman.

Stavola takes home her second straight ECC Pitcher of the Year honor after a dominating season in the circle for Dowling.  The junior has posted an 18-2 record with a 1.07 ERA in 124 innings to date. She also leads the ECC in four different categories.  She tops the conference charts with an eye-popping 276 strikeouts while also leading in ERA, shutouts (10), and opponents batting average (.136). Stavola’s averages of 15.6 strikeouts per seven innings leads the nation as well.  

A four-time Rookie of the Week selection, Hagenah is among the top three of the ECC leaders in almost every offensive category. She tops the ECC with a .476 batting average, 60 RBI, and 118 total bases.  She also ranks second in the conference with 69 hits, 13 homeruns, a .533 on-base percentage, and a .814 slugging percentage. She also cracks the top-five with 19 walks and 38 runs.

For the third straight year, Susan Cassidy-Lyke of Molloy College has been selected Coach of the Year by her peers.  This season, Cassidy-Lyke guided the Lions to a 38-12 overall record and a 22-6 mark in conference play to claim the second seed in the ECC Tournament.  The Lions are currently ranked third in the East Region as they head into post-season play.

Campagna, Hagenah and Stavola are joined by Emily Slack (Jr., C, Dowling), Kendall Bright (Jr., 2B, C.W. Post), Jenna Ausiello (Jr., SS, Mercy), Jeana Frey (So., OF, Molloy), Chelsea Methot (Sr., OF, Mercy), Deana Tortorici (Jr., OF, Dowling), Stephanie Tarango (So., DP, Dowling), Megan Butterworth (So., UTL, Molloy), and Felicia Mendoza (Sr., P, Dowling) on the ECC All-Conference First Team.

Second Team recipients include:  Nicole Capllea (So., C, C.W. Post), Kelly Bentson (Fr., 1B, Mercy), Alexandra Sydor (Sr., 2B, Molloy), Haley Calderwood (So., 3B, Molloy), Nicolette Sinagra (Fr., SS, Molloy), Carly Chamberlain (Fr., OF, C.W. Post), Kerry Fisher (Jr., OF, C.W. Post), Danielle Messina (So., OF, Dowling), Allison Breakey (So., UTL, Queens), Christina Berardi (Sr., P, C.W. Post), and Kelly Jansen (So., P, Molloy).

2011 Softball All-Conference
First Team     
C - Emily Slack, Jr. ,Dowling  
1B - Carla Campagna,  Jr., Molloy  
2B - Kendall Bright, Jr., C.W. Post  
3B - Nicole Hagenah, Fr., C.W. Post  
SS - Jenna Ausiello, Jr., Mercy 
OF - Jeana Frey, So., Molloy   
OF - Chelsea Methot, Sr., Mercy  
OF - Deana Tortorici, Jr., Dowling 
DP - Stephanie Tarango, So., Dowling 
U - Megan Butterworth, So., Molloy  
P - Felicia Mendoza, Sr., Dowling  
P - Jessie Stavola, Jr.,  Dowling  

Second Team
C - Nicole Capella, So., C.W. Post
1B - Kelly Bentson, Fr., Mercy
2B - Alexandra Sydor, Sr., Molloy
3B - Haley Calderwood, So., Molloy
SS - Nicolette Sinagra, Fr., Molloy
OF - Carly Chamberlain, Fr., C.W. Post
OF - Kerry Fisher, Jr., C.W. Post
OF - Danielle Messina, So., Dowling
U - Allison Breakey, So. Queens
P - Christina Berardi, Sr., C.W. Post
P - Kelly Jansen, So., Molloy

Player of the Year:  Carla Campagna, Molloy
Pitcher of the Year:  Jessie Stavola, Dowling
Rookie of the Year: Nicole Hagenah, C.W. Post
Coach of the Year:  Susan Cassidy-Lyke, Molloy