Aiken and Gamble Headline Women’s Basketball All-Conference Awards

Aiken and Gamble Headline Women’s Basketball All-Conference Awards

Central Islip, NY- C.W. Post junior guard Janea Aiken has been selected as the 2009-2010 Women's Basketball Player of the Year, as voted on by the league's coaches.  Dowling's Seja Gamble has been tabbed the ECC Rookie of the Year for her outstanding freshman campaign.

A five time ECC Player of the Week selection, Aiken has led the Pioneers in scoring in 18 of their 27 games.  Averaging 16.6 points per game, she is second on the ECC charts in scoring and is ranked third in field goal percentage (.462), fourth in three-point field goal percentage (.377) and sixth in assists (4.04).   On eight different occasions this season, Aiken has scored twenty-plus points, as well as recording four games with 19 points and has scored in the double-digits in 23 of 27 games this season. 

Gamble is averaging 9.9 points per game for the Golden Lions this season.  The two-time ECC Rookie of the Week ranks sixth in the conference with a .438 shooting percentage and led her team in scoring on three occasions.

In his fourth season at the helm of the Molloy College Women's Basketball program, Tim O'Hagan has been selected the 2010 ECC Women's Basketball Coach of the Year.  O'Hagan led his squad to a 19-7 regular season record with a 16-5 mark in conference play.  The Lions secured the No. 2 seed in the ECC Tournament and are currently ranked sixth in the East Region.

Aiken is joined by Emma Beddome (Sr., F/C, Bridgeport), Christie Marrone (Gr., G, Dowling), Briana Sloper (So., F, St. Thomas Aquinas) and Kymira Woodberry (Sr., F, Molloy) on the ECC All-Conference First Team.

Second Team recipients include:  E.J. Dreyer (Sr., F, Molloy), Christine Harnischfeger (Jr., G, Queens), Felicia Joyner (So, G, C.W. Post), Ana-Maria Kammer (Jr., F, Bridgeport) and Shannon Malone (Sr., F, Bridgeport).

The ECC All-Rookie Team is made up of Seja Gamble (G, Dowling), Chloe Johnson (F/C, Queens), Shpresa Liharevic (G, St. Thomas Aquinas), Nicolette Marciniak (F, C.W. Post) and Connie Simmons (G, Dowling).

2009-2010 ECC Women's Basketball All-Conference

First Team
Janea Aiken (Jr., G, C.W. Post)
Emma Beddome (Sr., F/C, Bridgeport)
Christie Marrone (Gr., G, Dowling)
Briana Sloper (So., F, St. Thomas Aquinas)
Kymira Woodberry (Sr., F, Molloy)

Second Team
E.J. Dreyer (Sr., F, Molloy)
Christine Harnischfeger (Jr., G, Queens)
Felicia Joyner (So, G, C.W. Post)
Ana-Maria Kammer (Jr., F, Bridgeport)
Shannon Malone (Sr., F, Bridgeport)

All-Rookie Team
Seja Gamble (G, Dowling)
Chloe Johnson (F/C, Queens)
Shpresa Liharevic (G, St. Thomas Aquinas)
Nicolette Marciniak (F, C.W. Post)
Connie Simmons (G, Dowling)

East Coast Conference Player of the Year: Janea Aiken (Jr., G, C.W. Post)

East Coast Conference Rookie of the Year: Seja Gamble (G, Dowling)

East Coast Conference Coaches of the Year: Tim O'Hagan (Molloy)