Aiken Named All-Met Division II Player of the Year; Lusk Takes Home Coach of the Year

Aiken Named All-Met Division II Player of the Year; Lusk Takes Home Coach of the Year

NEW YORK - Janea Aiken of C.W. Post was named All-Met Division II women’s college basketball Player of the Year Wednesday by the National Invitation Tournament and the Met Basketball Writers Assn.

Kim Lusk of St. Thomas Aquinas was selected Coach of the Year.

Joining Aiken on the All-Met first team: Torey Jones, Caldwell; Brittany Shields, Pace; Tiffany McDaniel, Bloomfield; Amanda Bartlett, Queens; Cierra Baker, NYIT.

The All-Met second team: Connie Simmons, Dowling; Briana Sloper, St. Thomas Aquinas; Brittany Huggins, Pace; Quay Baskerville, Felician; Ashley Caiafa, Adelphi.

A senior guard from St. Albans, N.Y., Aiken led the Pioneers with 17.8 ppg and had 4.3 rpg. Also named the ECC player of the year, she finished her two-year career at C.W. Post with 1,104 points.

Lusk, in her third year at the helm, guided the Lady Spartans to the ECC regular season title and a 21-8 overall record. STAC lost in the semifinals of the conference tournament.

The All-Met awards will be presented Tuesday evening, April 26, at the Westchester Marriott in Tarrytown, N.Y.

2010-11 All-Met Women's Basketball Teams

FIRST TEAM: Janea Aiken, C.W. Post, 5-9, sr, G, St. Albans, N.Y.; Torey Jones, Caldwell, 5-8, so, G, Providence, R.I.; Brittany Shields, Pace, 5-10, so, F, Cold Spring, N.Y.; Tiffany McDaniel, Bloomfield, 6-1, sr, C, Colonia, N.J.; Amanda Bartlett, Queens, 5-7, jr, G, Mesa, Ariz.; Cierra Baker, NYIT, 5-8, jr, G-F, Windsor, Conn.

SECOND TEAM: Connie Simmons, Dowling, 5-10, so, G, Syosset, N.Y.; Briana Sloper, St. Thomas Aquinas, 5-11, jr, F, Williston, N.Y.; Brittany Huggins, Pace, 5-10, sr, F, Windsor, Conn.; Quay Baskerville, Felician, 5-11, sr, F, Hartford, Conn.; Ashley Caiafa, Adelphi, 5-9, sr, F, Massapequa, N.Y.

Player of the Year: Janea Aiken, C.W. Post
Coach of the Year: Kim Lusk, St. Thomas Aquinas