Moore Named All-Met Coach of the Year; Fived Named to All-Met Teams

Moore Named All-Met Coach of the Year; Fived Named to All-Met Teams

New York, N.Y. - East Coast Conference Women's Basketball Coach of the Year, Deirdre Moore, has been named the All-Met Division II Coach of the Year by the Met Basketball Writers Association. In addition, five ECC student-athletes were named to the All-Met First and Second Teams.

Moore earned the Coach of the Year honor after leading the Pioneers to their first ever ECC Regular Season Championship and a spot in the NCAA Tournament for the fourth consecutive season. Under her guidance, the Pioneers finished with a 24-7, won their first NCAA Tournament game since the 1983 season, and advanced to the championship game of the East Region for the first time in program history.  

Two of Moore's players, Chelsea Williams and Alexis Peters also earned All-Met recognition. Williams, the ECC Player of the Year, was named to the First Team, while Peters earned Second Team honors. Williams averaged 19.7 points per game on the season, finishing as the second leading scorer in the conference. Peters wrapped up her career by averaging 13.8 points per game and 5.0 assists per game.

Other ECC standouts honored include Madison and MacKenzie Rowland of Queens College and Dina Ragab of NYIT. Madison Rowland joins Williams as the only ECC representatives on the First Team. The ECC Rookie and Defensive Player of the Year led the conference in scoring with a 20.4 points per game average and topped all of Division II with 4.5 steals per game. Her sister, MacKenzie is a Second Team selection after posting 13.4 points per game and 8.0 rebounds per game on the season.

Ragab is the final ECC student-athlete to make the All-Met list, coming in on the Second Team. The First Team All-ECC player averaged 12.3 points per game and 7.2 rebounds per game in a breakout season.

The All-Met teams will be honored April 22 at the 81st NIT/MBWA Haggerty Awards dinner at the Westchester Marriott, Tarrytown, N.Y.

To view the full team, click here.