NYIT and Queens Share ECC Women’s Cross Country Title; C.W. Post Crowned Men’s Champions

NYIT and Queens Share ECC Women’s Cross Country Title; C.W. Post Crowned Men’s Champions

Complete Results

Brookville, N.Y. - Three Champions were crowned at the 2009 East Coast Conference Cross Country Championships held at C.W. Post on Sunday, October 25.  For the first time in conference history two women's teams share the ECC Women's Cross Country title with Queens College and New York Institute of Technology (NYIT) each accumulating a total of 50 points.  Host C.W. Post claimed their first men's title since 2006, finishing with 44 points.

The NYIT Bears placed the top three runners in the women's 5K to secure their shared first place finish. Freshman Jeptui Cherutich (Ravine, Kenya) led the way while Jackline Toek (Eldama Ravine, Kenya) finished second with a time of 19:29.50 and Yvonne Boinett (Eldoret, Kenya) was third, crossing the finish at 19:41.30.  Priscah Kiprop (Eldoret, Kenya) and Leslie Waller (Bel Air, Md.) rounded out the Bears top five.

Senior Amber Sayer (Amherst, Mass.) was the top finisher for Queens, helping them to seal the title with a fourth place time of 20:06.60.  Melissa Cuartas (Flushing, N.Y.) was fifth to cross the line with a time of 20:59.30 while Indira Availa (Fresh Meadows, N.Y.) snuck in the top ten with a time of 21:17 to place eighth.  Stephanie Pere (Staten Island, N.Y.)  finished 13th while Kirri Bolton (Tanja, Australia) finished 20th.

Head Coaches Valmore Holt (NYIT) and Greg Welch (Queens) were declared ECC Women's Cross Country Co-Coaches of the Year.  This marks the first cross country conference title for both programs.

Freshman Christian Altamura (Seaford, N.Y.) posted an 8K time of 27:53.4 to place third overall and help C.W. Post claim the championship title.  Senior Matt O'Keefe (East Rockaway, N.Y.) was second on the team and fifth overall with a time of 28:28.3 and teammate Vince Giambanco (Muttontown, N.Y.) was just seconds behind with a time 28:33.0 to finish eighth.  Freshmen David Johnson (Flushing, N.Y.) and Raymond Coyle (Woodhaven, N.Y.) claimed 13th and 15th place, respectively.

Head Coach Rob Morris was tabbed ECC Men's Cross Country Coach of the Year after leading the Pioneers to their fourth conference title.

Cherutich garnered both Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year honors as she led all runners, covering the 5K course in 18:42.00.  Cherutich was a five-time ECC Rookie of the Week selection this season and currently holds the NYIT women's 5K record with a personal best time of 17:42.6.

Nicholas Koiyet (Eldoret, Kenya) a sophomore runner from NYIT was named Player of the Year after capturing a first place finish.  Koiyet paced the men with a time of 27:11.80.

Daniel Rono (Eldoret, Kenya) earned Rookie of the Year honors after finishing just 1.4 seconds behind teammate Koiyet.  Rono finished with a time of 27:13.20 and was a four-time ECC Rookie of the Week pick this year. 


Men's Team Results




1. C.W. Post


2. Molloy




4. Dowling


5. Queens




7. Bridgeport



Women's Team Results



1. Queens




3. C.W. Post


4. Molloy


5. Bridgeport




7. Dowling



Men's Cross Country All-Conference First Team Name (Time)

Nicholas Koiyet, So., NYIT (27:11.8)
Daniel Rono, Fr., NYIT (27:13.2)
Christian Alatamura, Fr., C.W. Post (27:53.4)
Moath Al Kawaldeh, Fr., NTIT (28:23.9)
Matt O'Keefe, Fr., C.W. Post (28:28.3)
Vincent Modaferri, Sr., STAC (28:29.8)
Brian Bor, So., Bridgeport (28:31.4) 

Men's Cross Country All-Conference Second Team
Name (Time)
Vincent Giambanco, Sr., C.W. Post (28:33.0)
Matt Walsh, Sr., Molloy (28:39.6)
Einar Brissing, Sr., STAC (28:44.9)
Jonathan Cuomo, So., Dowling (29:03.1)
David Johnson, Fr., C.W. Post (29:09.1)
Max Gazzara, Fr., Queens (29:11.0) 

Women's Cross Country All-Conference First Team
Name (Time)
Jeptui Cherutich, Fr., NYIT (18:42.0)
Jackline Toek, So., NYIT (19:29.5)
Yvonne Boinett, Fr., NYIT (19:41.3)
Amber Sayer, Sr., Queens (20:06.6)
Melissa Cuartas, Sr., Queens (20:59.3)
Sarah Callagy, So., STAC (21:06.5)
Caitlin Smith, Fr., C.W. Post (21:12.5)

Women's Cross Country All-Conference Second Team
Name (Time)
Indira Availa, So., Queens (21:17.0)
Kristen Sweeney, Sr., C.W. Post (21:20.2)
Lauren Hulse, Jr., Dowling (21:50.3)
Erin Lusenskas, Sr., C.W. Post (22:10.4)
Katherine Wilkens, Fr., C.W. Post (22:15.1)
Stephanie Pere, Jr., Queens (22:16.4)
Elizabeth Weiss, Sr., Molloy (22:18.8)