C.W. Post Men and St. Thomas Aquinas Women Take Home ECC Cross Country Championships

C.W. Post Men and St. Thomas Aquinas Women Take Home ECC Cross Country Championships

Men's Results

Women's Results

Brookville, N.Y. - The C.W. Post men's cross country team and the St. Thomas Aquinas women's cross country team were crowned champions at the 2010 East Coast Conference Cross Country Championships held at C.W. Post on Sunday, November 7.  Host C.W. Post claimed their second consecutive men's title, finishing with 37 points, while St. Thomas Aquinas finished with 62 points to claim the women's title. 

Sophomore Christian Altamura (Seaford, N.Y.) posted an 8K time of 26:04.24 to place fourth overall and help C.W. Post claim the championship title.  Senior Vince Giambanco (Muttontown, N.Y.) was second on the team and sixth overall with a time of 26:18.18 and teammate Joe Lasher (Seaford, N.Y.) was just seconds behind with a time 26:27.64 to finish eighth.  Sophomores Raymond Coyle (Woodhaven, N.Y.) and Thomas Speicher (Levittown, N.Y.) crossed the finish line right after Lasher, finishing ninth and tenth respectively.

Head Coach Rob Morris was tabbed ECC Men's Cross Country Coach of the Year after leading the Pioneers to their fifth conference title.

The St. Thomas Aquinas Spartans placed two of the the top three runners in the women's 5K to secure their first place finish. Junior Sarah Callagy (Poughkeepsie, N.Y.) led the way while Keeley Bateman (Pearl River, N.Y.) finished third with a time of 19:25.19. Julia Karl also finished tenth, crossing the line in a time of 20:47.37.

Head Coach Nicole Ballou of St. Thomas Aquinas was declared ECC Women's Cross Country Coach of the Year.  This marks the first cross country conference title for the program.

Elphas Kimutai (Eldoret, Kenya) of NYIT garnered Runner of the Year honors as he led all runners, covering the 8K course in 25:28.08.   Nick Filippazzo (Wantagh, N.Y.) of Molloy College earned the Rookie of the Year award, finishing second overall with a time of 25:38.82. Filippazzo was a six-time ECC Rookie of the Week selection this season and currently holds the Molloy men's 5K record with time of 15:18.30.

Sarah Callagy (Poughkeepsie, N.Y.) a junior runner from St. Thomas Aquinas was named Runner of the Year after capturing a first place finish.  Callagy paced the women with a time of 19:14.15.

Keeley Bateman (Pearl River, N.Y.) earned Rookie of the Year honors after finishing third overall.  Bateman finished with a time of 19:25.19 and was a four-time ECC Rookie of the Week pick this year.  
Men's Team Results   
    Team             Points
1. C.W. Post      37
2. Molloy            73
3. NYIT               81
4. Dowling         89
5. STAC              93
6. Queens          144
7. Bridgeport      200 
Women's Team Results 
    Team             Points
1. STAC             62
2. Molloy           65
3. Dowling        80
4. C.W. Post      93
5. NYIT              114
6. Queens         130
7. Bridgeport     160 
Men's Cross Country All-Conference First Team
Name (Time)
Elphas Kimutai, So., NYIT (25:28.08)
Nick Filippazzo, Fr., Molloy (25:38.82)
Nicholas Koiyet, Jr., NYIT (25:44.54)
Christian Alatamura, So., C.W. Post (26:04.24)
Michael Galonski, Fr., STAC (26:10.34)
Vince Giambanco, Sr., C.W. Post (26:18.18)
Jonathan Cuomo, Jr., Dowling (26:21.16)

Men's Cross Country All-Conference Second Team
Name (Time)
Joe Lasher, So., C.W. Post (26:27.64)
Matthew O’Keefe, So., C.W. Post (26:53.28)
Raymond Coyle, So., C.W. Post (26:55.07)
Thomas Speicher, So., C.W. Post (26:55.93)
Moath Alkhawaldeh, Sr., NYIT (26:56.31)
Dennis Fliller, Sr., Dowling (27:05.99)
Ryan Healy, Fr., Molloy (27:06.85) 

Women's Cross Country All-Conference First Team
Name (Time)
Sarah Callagy, Jr., STAC(19:14.15)
Jackline Toek, Jr., NYIT (19.22.39)
Keeley Bateman, Fr., STAC (19:25.19)
Yvonne Boinett, Jr., NYIT (19:32.73)
Indira Avila, Jr., Queens (19:52.97)
Caitlin Breen, Fr., Molloy (20:13.73)
Christina Vissichelli, Fr., Dowling (20:19.00)

Women's Cross Country All-Conference Second Team
Name (Time)
Sarah Santos, Sr., Bridgeport (20:21.24)
Jennifer McLaughlin, Fr., C.W. Post (20:36.85)
Julia Karl, Jr., STAC (20:47.37)
Alyssa Fuertes, Jr., Molloy (20:50.45)
Anna Coogan, Fr., Dowling (20:51.57)
Alexandra Barrett, Jr., Molloy (20:52.89)
Alyssa Ligouri, Fr., Dowling (20:53.63)